"We were playing golf last October. Larry's ball was seen going into a sand filled green-side bunker. When the playing group reached the bunker, it was discovered that the bunker was not only sand filled, but also covered with Fall leaves. Larry started probing for his ball with his golf club. The club touched the ground. Scott said, turn around is fair play. You touched the sand in the bunker which constitutes testing the condition of the hazard...two stroke penalty. Scott said, ""how else could I look for the ball?"" Larry said, ""you could have used your hat to brush away the leaves.""
What is the correct ruling?"
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Off the Fringe, “Golf’s best short read.” The award winning newsletter, sent twice monthly, that provides an unconventional perspective on the golf world.