"In tournament golf, players keep each other's scores. The scorer is called the marker, and the marker keeps score for the competitor.
In the 1968 Masters, Roberto De Vicenzo's final day round saw him shoot a 31 on the front nine and a 34 on the back nine for a score of 65. However, De Vicenzo's playing partner and marker on Sunday was, Tommy Aaron. Unfortunately Aaron put down a 4 for De Vicenzo on the 17th hole when the Argentinian actually had made a birdie 3. The submitted scorecard totaled a final round of 66 rather than the correct score of 65. The critical issue, a 65 would tie De Vicienzo with Bob Goalby forcing a Monday Masters playoff.
It's the player's responsibility to ensure his scorecard is accurate before he signs it. De Vicenzo didn't. He signed an incorrect score card.
What was the correct ruling?"
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Off the Fringe, “Golf’s best short read.” The award winning newsletter, sent twice monthly, that provides an unconventional perspective on the golf world.