Match play, putt deflected by competitor's equipment
"In Match Play, Larry's putt rolled past the hole (common for Larry) and hit his competitor's (Scott's) approach iron that was lying on the green. The ball deflected back toward the hole coming to rest within tap-in range. Scott told Larry he needed to replay the putt. Larry countered that the ball should be played from where it lies. It appeared to me that neither was sure of the correct ruling but were making things up as the scenario played out, and of course, to their advantage.
What is the correct answer?"
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Off the Fringe, “Golf’s best short read.” The award winning newsletter, sent twice monthly, that provides an unconventional perspective on the golf world.