Hitting provisional ball twice, then switching to original ball
My buddy the rules Czar hooked his drive into the woods (about 220 yards) on our number 5, par 5 hole. Unsure of whether the ball would be found, he declared and hit a provisional ball. His provisional ball was mediocre at best (about 160 Yards) but did land in the middle of the fairway. He hit his next shot with his provisional ball before searching for his original drive. He then found his original drive and declared that he would play his original ball. Is this allowed? What should have been the correct ruling?
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Off the Fringe, “Golf’s best short read.” The award winning newsletter, sent twice monthly, that provides an unconventional perspective on the golf world.