Does hitting found golf ball to player who lost it count as illegal practice swing?
"Larry was in the tree line the separates holes #3 and #5. Larry was playing #3. A golfer from #5 had given up looking for his ball and played on with a new ball and a penalty. A minute later, Larry found both his ball and the ball belonging to the player on hole #5. Larry shouted out to the player on #5 that he had found his ball. The player shouted back to Larry to throw him the ball. The other golfer was about 100 yards away, out of throwing range, so Larry hit the ball to him with his pitching wedge. When Larry returned to his stroke play foursome, Scott said, I think that practice hit is going to cost you a stroke or two. Was Scott correct?
What is the correct ruling?"
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Off the Fringe, “Golf’s best short read.” The award winning newsletter, sent twice monthly, that provides an unconventional perspective on the golf world.