Luckless Larry had just purchased a new Driver for the course stroke play tournament. He was very pleased with the performance, particularly his tee shot on number 6. He told Scott, his golf cart partner, that he would walk to his ball. While walking Larry was twirling the club and it inadvertently struck a sprinkler head. Sure enough, on the subsequent two drives, Larry performed poorly. Or could it have been the new Driver? Scott took a look at the club, and said, "Oops, your driver is dented. You might as well go home now." Larry who was playing under his handicap said, "no way, I can still win this tournament even without my driver." Scott said. "You misunderstand; you played with a modified club and are disqualified." Larry said, "I think not, I'll play on and see what the rules judge says."
What is the correct ruling?
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Off the Fringe, “Golf’s best short read.” The award winning newsletter, sent twice monthly, that provides an unconventional perspective on the golf world.