"Larry and I were playing golf last week. I had a sleeve of 3 balls in my bag. That should have been more enough. But it is fall, and leaves can hide a golf ball even in the Fairway. I lost a “fairway"" ball to the leaves on holes number 4 and 11. I legitimately lost a ball in the creek on 16. At that point, having just lost my last ball, I turned to Larry and asked to borrow a ball to finish the round. Larry said, “sure, but instead of a 3 stroke penalty, one stroke penalty on each hole for using a borrowed ball (hole's 16, 17, and 18), I will only assess you one stroke for the remaining 3 holes. Was Larry correct?
What is the correct ruling?"
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Off the Fringe, “Golf’s best short read.” The award winning newsletter, sent twice monthly, that provides an unconventional perspective on the golf world.