Larry was about 10 yards off the green preparing to chip. He asked Scott to pull the pin. Scott pulled the pin and laid it about 15 yards to the right of the hole. Larry flubbed his chip, and his ball went right at the pin, striking it. Scott apologized to Larry saying he had no idea that the pin might be struck. He followed that up with a, Guess I cost you two strokes.
Of course, that's when the conversation got lively. I'll spare you the details. Bottom line, Larry was adamant that there was no penalty. What is the correct ruling?