Larry, Scott and I were playing golf this past weekend. On #4, a 360-yard par 4, Scott’s tee shot left him about 150 yards from the hole. He asked if anyone could see the flagstick. None of us could see the stick. Scott proceeded to hit a beautiful 6 iron to the green. When we got to the green, we found the flagstick laying on the green with Scotts ball resting against it. Scott’s ball had obviously hit/contacted the pin. The flagstick must have been left out by the previous players or had been replaced incorrectly and blown over.
Larry said, “bad luck Scott, hitting the flagstick is going to cost you two strokes. Was Larry correct? What is the correct ruling