After obtaining relief from a left handed stance interference, can you then switch to a right handed stance?
"Larry's drive came to rest about one foot on the right in front of the middle of a large oak. Larry is right handed, he can't play his natural right-handed stroke because of the position of his ball relative to the tree. Larry decides to face the tree and play left handed. However from this left handed stance, one of his feet will be standing in casual water. Larry then declares he is authorized to take relief and proceeds to do so. After taking relief, his ball comes to rest in a fairly open area. Larry then takes a right hand stance and addressed the ball.
That's when the ""whoa there"" was heard. Scott said, ""I'm not even sure you were entitled to relief, but even if you were, it was from casual water in your left hand stance. You can't take relief and then switch back to a right hand stance.
What's the correct ruling:"
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Off the Fringe, “Golf’s best short read.” The award winning newsletter, sent twice monthly, that provides an unconventional perspective on the golf world.